Wedding License Information
Douglas County, OR

Marriage license applications can be obtained at either:

Douglas County Clerk's Office Douglas
1036 S.E. Douglas Avenue, Room 221
Roseburg, OR 97470
(541) 440-6113
Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  The Reedsport County Annex Building
680 Fir Avenue
Reedsport, OR 97467
(541) 271-3641
Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. & 2:00 - 4:30 p.m.

Fees:
The fee for the license is $50.00, payable in cash, certified check or money order. No Personal checks are accepted. (Reedsport Annex accepts money orders only.)

Waiting Period:
A marriage license is not valid until 3 days after the issue date. The Marriage license becomes effective on the 4th day from the date of purchase (this is called the effective date). The effective date will be on the marriage license. The license is valid for 60 days after the effective date. (A waiver of the 3 day waiting period may be obtained at the time of application. The fee for the waiver is $10.00 in addition to the $50.00 marriage license fee.)

Requirements:
  1. Both groom & bride must be present to get a marriage license. Valid government issued picture identification must be shown. (i.e. drivers license, military ID, passport, etc.)
  2. You do not have to be an Oregon resident to obtain a marriage license. You may use the license anywhere inside the state of Oregon.
  3. Oregon law prohibits issuance of a marriage license to any one less than 17 years of age. (ORS 106.010)
  4. Persons divorced in Oregon may apply for a marriage license on the date their divorce is final. (ORS 107.115) Persons divorced in other states must comply with that state's laws regarding waiting periods before a marriage license can be issued in this state.

All 17 year olds applying for a marriage license must provide the following items to obtain a marriage license:
  1. Written consent of the 17 year olds parent or guardian.
  2. A certified copy of 17 year olds birth certificate.
  3. A witness who is over the age of 18 and is not that person's parent or guardian & knows both parties & is willing to sign an affidavit.
  4. Witness, Parent, Bride & Groom all need to be present at time of application & must show valid identification
** Remember the license is not valid until 3 days after is has been issued (unless you request a waiver of the waiting period). It will remain valid for 60 days following the effective date (the expiration date is shown in block #25 on the marriage license).

The license can be used (ceremony performed) anywhere in the State of Oregon.

Two persons 18 or older are required to witness the solemnization of the marriage.


Your marriage can be solemnized by:
  1. Minister
  2. A Judge
  3. Justice of the Peace
  4. A County Clerk

A list of persons authorized to perform a civil ceremony is available by clicking here.

The properly completed Marriage License must be returned to the Douglas County Clerks Office within 10 days of your marriage (usually by the officiant)

There will be no record of your marriage until the completed license has been recorded in the Marriage License Department at the Douglas County Clerk's Office.


Things you need to know when applying for a marriage license
1.    Mother´s & Fathers name (First, Middle & Last)
2.    Mother´s Maiden name
3.    States of parents birth. (if outside of the United States, just the country) (If this information is unknown we can put in unknown, but if you can please obtain this information)
4.    If this is a 2nd marriage or more, then the date the last Marriage ended.


Certified Copy:
After the marriage has taken place the completed marriage license must be returned to the County Clerk. An official "certified" copy will be needed by the Bride to change her name on her Driver's License, Social Security card etc. A certified copy may be obtained in person in the County Clerk's office, Courthouse, Room 221 for $7.75 cash, check or money order. A written request for a certified copy may be sent to the County Clerk, PO Box 10, Roseburg, OR 97470 along with $7.75 (check or money order) and a self-addressed stamped envelope.